The Society of Uniformed Services Psychiatrists (SUSP) is a district branch of the American Psychiatric Association (APA). Membership is limited to active duty, activated guard/reservist, or retired military psychiatrists in the Army, Navy, Air Force, and Public Health Service who also meet eligibility criteria for APA membership.


The Society of Uniformed Services Psychiatrists (SUSP) is an organization of past and present uniformed psychiatrists working together to advance military psychiatry and to develop world-class leaders in their field.  
  • To advance the professional development of its members through education, mentorship, sponsorship, coaching, and networking.
  • To promote the health and wellbeing of its members by building a cohesive community of uniformed psychiatrists
  • To promote the advancement of military psychiatry.
  • To optimize the psychiatric care of service members and their families by heightening the awareness and the importance of uniformed psychiatrists-led patient care, education, and research programs.

Board Members

Rohul Amin                                                                  President
Connie Thomas                                                          Vice President
Rachel Sullivan                                                           Immediate Previous President
Jed Mangal                                                                 Treasurer  
Sean Wilkes                                                                Secretary  
Eric Meyer                                                                   Assembly Representative
Heather Hauck                                                           Assembly Representative


Committee Chairs

Aaron Wolfgang                                                          Chair,  Professional Education Committee
Jerry Trotter                                                                Chair, Membership Committee
Peter Gertonson                                                        Chair, Elections Committee

Curt West                                                                   Chair, Ethics Committee


Newly Appointed Positions

Medical Student Outreach Co-Chairs
Bryson Hewins for Navy/PHS USU and HPSP students        
Jacqueline Hamrick for Army USU and HPSP students 
Bianca Eubanks for USAF and HPSP students                           

Resident Outreach Co-Chairs  
Matt Rusling for Army residents  
Tom DePietro for Navy/PHS residents  
Cory Jacobsen for USAF residents  

Previous SUSP Presidents


2019-2020 - Rachel Sullivan
2018-2019  - Eric Meyer
2017-2018 - Vin Capaldi 
2016-2017 - Gary Wynn 
2015-2016 - Steven Pflanz 
2014-2015 - Dan Balog 
2013-2014 - Wendi Waits 
2012-2013 - Kevin Moore
2007-2009 - David Benedek
2000-2002 - David Benedek


SUSP Officer Job Descriptions

SUSP is a private organization; the views expressed do not represent those of the U.S. government or the Department of Defense.